Any person owning livestock can register a brand by applying to the Commissioner of Agriculture for a certificate of registration. Brand registration is not required in the state of Georgia; however the fact that livestock is branded with a registered mark is prima-facie evidence that such livestock belongs to the person to whom the registration is issued.
Livestock brands are reviewed and purged on a 5-year cycle. Everyone with registered brands must renew their information every year ending in 4 and 9 (e.g., 2024, 2029, etc.).
Important: we mail a reminder to all brand registrants when it is time to renew. If you do not respond within the given deadline, your brand registration may be canceled, and the certificate of brand registration may be reassigned to another person.
Make sure to keep your contact information current with the Georgia Department of Agriculture. If you miss this critical 5-year communication and forget to renew, your registration may be canceled.
Georgia state law governing brand registration can be found in the Official Code of Georgia Annotated at Title 4, Chapter 2, Marks and Brands O.C.G.A §§ 4-2-1 — 4-2-5.