Georgia Department of Agriculture

License Instructions

Georgia State Bonded Warehouse Licenses

The Georgia State Warehouse Act, O.C.G.A. 10-4-1 et seq., requires that if you plan to store cotton or grain for the public, you must be a licensed
warehouseman.

To obtain a grain or cotton warehouse license, contact this division office for a prompt examiner's physical inspection and capacity determination of your facility and submit:

  1. Application for State Bonded Warehouse License (Form)
  2. Appropriate license fee based on approved storage capacity.
    Fees for grain:   Less than 200,000 bushels - $2,000
                            Equal to or over 200,000 bushels - $2,500
    Fees for cotton: Less than 7,500 bales - $2,000
                            Equal to or over 7,500 bales - $2,500
  3. Bond (surety, letter of credit or CD) based on approved storage capacity.
    Minimum bond, $20,000 – Maximum, $300,000
    Contact the Bonding Section, (404) 656-3725 for forms.
  4. Reviewed or audited financial statement, minimum equity $20,000.
  5. Proof of stock insurance coverage, including 10 day notice of cancellation.
  6. Tariff Schedule. (Contact this Division office for form)
  7. Completed warehouse receipts (contact this office for instructions).
  8. If you do not have one, obtain a Certified Public Weigher’s license and have a certified scale on the premises.

GEORGIA GRAIN DEALER LICENSE

The Georgia State Grain Dealer Act, O.C.G.A. 2-9-31, states: “It shall be unlawful for any dealer in grain who comes within the terms of this article to engage in such business in this state without a state license issued by the Commissioner.”

To obtain a grain dealer license, you must submit:

  1. Application for Georgia Grain Dealer License (Form)
  2. License fee in the amount of $150.00 payable to the Georgia Department of Agriculture.  Please mark check, “Grain Dealer License”
  3. Bond (surety, letter of credit or CD) based on producer purchase activity.
    Minimum bond, $20,000 – Maximum, $150,000
    Contact the Bonding Section, (404) 656-3725 for forms.
  4. Reviewed or audited financial statement, minimum equity $20,000.

Other requirements: Obtain a Certified Public Weigher’s license, if you have a scale, or state on your application where you will weigh grain.

Site Map | Printable View | Copyright © 2016 Georgia Department of Agriculture