
 
 

Frequently Asked Questions: Hemp Production in Georgia Agriculture 

1. What is Hemp? Hemp is defined as the Cannabis sativa L. plant and any part of the plant, 
including the 55 seeds and all derivatives, extracts, cannabinoids, isomers, acids, salts, and salts 
of 56 isomers, whether growing or not, with a THC concentration of no more than 0.3 percent 
on a dry-weight basis.   
 

2. Where is Georgia with Hemp Production?  The licensing of hemp cultivation in Georgia is 
underway. To start, the Georgia Department of Agriculture is moving forward with licensing 
Georgia’s Hemp Processors. Grower licensing will become available at a later date.     
 

3. Who can legally grow hemp in Georgia? Growers licensed by the Georgia Department of 
Agriculture (GDA) are authorized to grow and handle hemp in the state of Georgia. A grower 
licensing program is pending approval of the Georgia hemp production plan by USDA.  
 

4. Are hemp processors required to be permitted in Georgia? Yes, Georgia will begin accepting 
applications for Hemp Processor Permits starting March 1.  
 

5. What’s the difference between a Grower License vs. a Processor Permit?  
a. Grower License: “Hemp Grower License” or “Grower License” means a license issued by 

the Department under the authority of the Georgia Hemp Farming Act authorizing a 
person to handle and cultivate hemp in the State of Georgia.  

b. Processor Permit: “Hemp Processor Permit” or “Processor Permit” means a permit 
issued by the Department under the authority of the Georgia Hemp Farming Act 
authorizing a person to handle and process hemp in the State of Georgia. 

 
6. How do I become a hemp processor? Any person processing or intending to process hemp must 

have a valid Hemp Processor Permit before receiving, processing, handling, or storing hemp at 
any location in Georgia. A valid permit means the permit has been issued and is unexpired, 
unsuspended, and unrevoked. As part of the Hemp Processor Permit Application, each applicant 
must submit to the Georgia Department of Agriculture several supporting documents. Processor 
applications will be available online at agr.georgia.gov.  
 

7. How much does a hemp processor permit cost? The initial fee for a Hemp Processor Permit is 
$25,000.00, and the annual renewal fee is currently$10,000.00 per year.  
 

8. Can a processor in Georgia process and handle hemp not grown in the state?  Yes, a Georgia 
permitted process can process and handle hemp produced by an out-of-state grower as long as 
the grower is authorized to produce hemp under a State or Tribal hemp plan approved by the 
USDA, under a hemp license issued by USDA, or under 7 U.S.C. 5940.  
 



 
9. What happens if hemp tests higher than the 0.3% permitted for THC content? For Georgia 

licensed hemp growers, the licensee's entire crop with the same global positioning coordinates 
must be disposed of in accordance with the federal Controlled Substances Act and Drug 
Enforcement Administration (DEA) regulations by a DEA-registered reverse distributor and in 
compliance with regulations promulgated by GDA. For Georgia permitted hemp processors, all 
related hemp products must also be disposed of in accordance with the federal Controlled 
Substances Act and DEA regulations by a DEA-registered reverse distributor and in the presence 
of local law enforcement. 
 

10. Can hemp be sold/commercially distributed as animal feed? Not at this time. Before an 
ingredient can be sold or distributed as part of animal feed, the ingredient must be recognized 
by the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) and/or listed as a "recognized feed ingredient" by 
the American Association of Feed Control Officials (AAFCO).  
 

11. Can I add CBD oil to food? Though the sale of hemp and hemp products are legal, GDA policy 
still prohibits the use of cannabidiol oil (CBD) in food, pet food and dietary supplements. Until 
the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) changes its restrictions on the inclusion of CBD oil in 
foods and dietary supplements, it remains unlawful in Georgia to sell any such products that 
contain CBD oil.  
 

Important Resources  

• To learn more see HB 213, Georgia Hemp Farming Act here,  
http://www.legis.ga.gov/Legislation/20192020/187562.pdf    

• See Georgia’s Hemp Plan, http://agr.georgia.gov/hemp/Georgia-Hemp-Plan.pdf  
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