
 

 
 
February 7, 2013 
 
 
MEMO TO: Georgia Seed Dealers 
 
FROM:           Alan Lowman  
  Agricultural Inputs Program Director 
 
SUBJECT: Registration for Georgia Seed Dealer’s License 
 
Pursuant to the Official Code of Georgia Annotated section 2-11-26 and Georgia Department of 
Agriculture Rules Chapter 40-12-8, all Georgia seed dealers must be licensed before they can sell seed in 
Georgia. Rules Chapter 40-12-8, entitled Seed Dealer License Fee, outlines requirements of license 
registration, expiration and renewal as follows: 

 
40-12-8-.01 Seed Dealer License Fees.  Pursuant to Code section 2-11-26, during August 1997, 
each retail and wholesale dealer shall apply for a separate license for each point of sale from which 
seed are sold, offered for sale, or exposed for sale.  Out-of-state wholesale and retail seed dealers 
who sell or ship seed into this state shall obtain a single license for their headquarters’ location in 
the same manner.  Application for license is made on forms supplied through the Seed Division of 
the Georgia Department of Agriculture.  License applicants shall be assessed a fee of $100 for each 
three (3) year period or any portion thereof.  All licenses shall expire on July 31, 2000, and every 
third year thereafter.  Authority O.C.G.A. 2-11-26 

 
To apply for a new license or to renew an expired Georgia Seed Dealer’s License, you must submit a 
completed Georgia Seed Dealer’s application form and the $100.00 license fee made payable to the 
Georgia Department of Agriculture.  
 
Once the application and fee are processed your license will be mailed to you. Renewal advisement letters 
are sent out in June of the expiration year. Current licenses will expire on July 31, 2015. 
 
Please contact me if I may assist in any manner at 404-656-4958 or at Alan.Lowman@agr.georgia.gov. 
 
 
 
Enclosures 
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 Georgia Seed Dealer’s License Application 
 

                   Application is hereby made for license to sell seed in accordance with the Georgia Seed                  
        Law, O.C.G.A. section 2-11-26, and Georgia Department of Agriculture Rule chapter 
        40-12-8, titled Seed Dealer License Fees, which states the following: 
 
40-12-8-.01 Seed Dealer License Fees.  Pursuant to Code section 2-11-26, during August, 1997, each retail and wholesale seed dealer shall 
apply for a separate license for each point of sale from which seed are sold, offered for sale, or exposed for sale.  Out-of-state wholesale and 
retail seed dealers who sell or ship seed into this state shall obtain a single license for their headquarters’ location in the same manner.  
Application for license is made on forms supplied through the Seed Division of the Georgia Department of Agriculture.  License applicants 
shall be assessed a fee of $100 for each three (3) year license period or any portion thereof.  All licenses shall expire on July 31, 2000 and 
every third year thereafter. 
Authority O.C.G.A. 2-11-26 
 
Please remit the completed application with  $100 fee (check or money order)  payable to: Georgia Department of 

Agriculture, 19 M. L. King Jr. Drive, SW, Room 410, Atlanta, GA 30334. 
 

COMPANY’S NAME   
 

P. O. BOX NO.   
 

ADDRESS   
 

CITY   STATE ZIP CODE   
 

TELEPHONE   FAX   
 

COUNTY E-MAIL 
 

APPLICATION MADE BY   
 PRINT NAME 

 

 

 SIGNATURE    DATE 

 

  

 TITLE 

 

  
   Gary W.  Black      

   Commissioner 
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