40-13-12-.01 Definitions. Amended.
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“Act” means the “Bird Dealers Licensing Act” (Ga. Laws 1981, p. 510).

“Bird Dealer” means any person engaged in the business of dealing in, purchasing,
breeding, or offering for sale (whether at wholesale or retail) any exotic or pet birds
customarily kept as pets.

“Commissioner” means the Commissioner of Agriculture.

“Department” means the Department of Agriculture.

“Person” means any individual, firm, partnership, corporation, estate, trust,
fiduciary, or other group or combination acting as a unit.

“Exotic disease” means a disease not native to the United States.

“Untreatable disease” means a disease that does not respond to accepted medical
chemotherapy or one whose treatment is uneconomical.

“Pet Bird” means a bird kept or intended for sale as a companion animal.
“Premise” means the land and all buildings thereon.
“Exotic Bird” means bird not native or indigenous to the United States.

“Exhibition Event” means a Reptile or Exotic/Pet Bird show or event that has been
issued a special written permit by the State Veterinarian's office.

Authority O.C.G.A. Sec. 4-10-1, et. seq.

40-13-12-.02 Licenses. Amended.
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Any person desiring to operate as a bird dealer must first apply for and obtain a
license. License application forms may be obtained from the Department.

All licenses shall be issued for a period of one (1) year and shall expire twelve

months from the date of issue. The annual license fee shall be based on the gross

volume or a set fee as follows:

(a) Bird Dealers not having a permanent fixed facility in Georgia that are only
selling birds at “Exhibition Events”- $200.00 fee

(b) For $101.00 to $5,000.00 in gross pet sales - $100.00 fee

(c) For $5,001.00 to 10,000.00 in gross pet sales - $200.00 fee

(d) For $10,001.00 to $15,000.00 in gross pet sales - $300.00 fee
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(e) For $15,001.00 and up in gross pet sales - $400.00 fee
(f) Bird dealer not having a permanent fixed facility in Georgia - $400.00 fee

The license shall be issued in the name used for all business transactions involving
exotic and pet birds. Any change in the name of the license shall be promptly
reported to the Department in writing. Only one license shall be issued to a
premise.

A separate license is required for each business location and must be displayed in a
conspicuous location.

Any corporation, partnership, or estate must declare this at the time of license
application and list such officers or owners on the application.

Whenever a license is revoked the operator will be allowed to dispense of birds on
hand only by a special permit from the Commissioner of Agriculture. The
Department will have the authority to enter the premise and inventory birds as long
as birds remain on the premise.

Authority O.C.G.A. Secs. 4-10-4 and 4-10-5.

40-13-12-.05 Interstate Shipment of Birds. Amended.

(1) Each shipment of exotic and pet birds shipped into Georgia requires a prior permit
number obtained from the State Veterinarian’s Office.

(2) All exotic or pet birds entering Georgia for sale, trade, or exchange for a fee or
other type of compensation must be accompanied by a Certificate of Veterinary
Inspection which has been issued within the previous 30 days and which records
proof of the health requirements for each species.

(3) All pet or exotic birds entering Georgia for exhibition purposes must meet the
requirements for interstate shipment.

(4) All exotic or pet bird shows and/or sales should obtain a special permit in writing
from the State Veterinarian’s Office.

(5) Any person convicted of violating these regulations shall be guilty of a

misdemeanor.

Authority O.C.G.A. Sec. 4-7-1



