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§ 26-2-310.  Definitions 

As used in this article, the term: 

(1) "Nonresident of the State of Georgia" means a person who has not maintained a continuous residence in this 

state for one year and not resided therein for six months next preceding the time when he makes application for a 

license. 

(2) "Resident of the State of Georgia" means a person who has maintained a continuous residence in this state for 

one year and has resided therein for the six-month period preceding the time when he makes application for a license 

and a corporation organized under the laws of this state, of which a majority of the stockholders are residents of this 

state, or a foreign corporation which has become domesticated and qualified with the Secretary of State to do 

business in this state six months before it makes application for a license. 

(3) "Seafood" means all fresh or frozen fish and all fresh or frozen shellfish, such as shrimp, oysters, clams, 

scallops, lobsters, crayfish, and other similar fresh or frozen edible products. However, nothing in this article shall 

apply to any canned or salted seafoods. 

(4) "Wholesale fish dealer" means any person, firm, association of persons, or corporation who sells fish or 

seafood of any kind to a retail dealer, a wholesale dealer, hotels, restaurants, or other public eating places of any kind 

or nature whatsoever. 

HISTORY: Ga. L. 1937-38, Ex. Sess., p. 332, § 4. 

§ 26-2-311.  Administration by Commissioner of Agriculture 

It shall be the duty of the Commissioner of Agriculture to administer this article. 

HISTORY: Ga. L. 1937-38, Ex. Sess., p. 332, § 3. 
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§ 26-2-312.  Wholesale Fish Dealers’ Licenses 

(a) No person, firm, association of persons, or corporation shall be authorized or permitted to engage in the business of 

wholesale fish dealer in this state without first having paid to the Commissioner of Agriculture the annual license fees 

required in this Code section and having procured a license from the Commissioner authorizing such person to engage in 

the business of wholesale fish dealer. Any fees collected pursuant to this Code section shall be retained pursuant to the 

provisions of Code Section 45-12-92.1. The annual license fee applicable to and required of wholesale fish dealers shall 

be as follows: 

(1) The annual license fee for each resident wholesale fish dealer shall be $60.00 for each place of business, fixed 

or movable; and 

(2) The annual license fee for each nonresident or alien wholesale fish dealer shall be $60.00 for each place of 

business, fixed or movable, provided that the annual license fee for each nonresident or alien wholesale fish dealer 

who is a resident of a state which charges Georgia resident wholesale fish dealers a fee in excess of $60.00 shall be 

the same as the fee such state charges Georgia resident wholesale fish dealers for each place of business, fixed or 

movable. The Commissioner of Agriculture of the State of Georgia may enter into a reciprocal agreement with any 

other state to limit the fees such state charges a Georgia resident who operates as a wholesale fish dealer or its 

equivalent in such other state. 

(b) Each truck or movable unit from which fish are sold at wholesale shall be deemed a place of business within the 

meaning of this article. 

(c) A resident who produces the fish and other seafood he or she sells at retail or wholesale shall not be required to pay 

the license fee provided in paragraph (1) of subsection (a) of this Code section; nor shall any commercial fisherman 

licensed to catch fish or seafood by the state game and fish laws, rules, and regulations be required to pay the license fee 

provided for in this Code section. 

HISTORY: Ga. L. 1937-38, Ex. Sess., p. 332, § 5; Ga. L. 1939, p. 316, § 1; Ga. L. 1945, p. 315, § 1; Ga. L. 1953, Jan.-Feb. Sess., p. 521, § 2; Ga. L. 1987, p. 908, § 1; Ga. 

L. 2002, p. 819, § 1; Ga. L. 2010, p. 9, § 1-58/HB 1055; Ga. L. 2011, p. 752, § 26/HB 142. 

§ 26-2-313.  Applications for Wholesale Fish Dealers’ Licenses 

(a) Each and every person desiring to engage in the business of wholesale fish dealer in this state shall annually on or 

before January 1 in every year make application to the Commissioner of Agriculture for a license in which such applicant 

shall state his name, his post office address, the nature of business in which he desires to engage, and the place at which 

he proposes to conduct his business. Such applicant shall also furnish to the Commissioner such other and additional 

information as the Commissioner may require. When such information is furnished, the Commissioner shall advise the 

applicant the amount of the license tax required of such applicant, and when said annual license tax is paid, the 

Commissioner shall issue to such applicant a license which shall particularly state the nature of the business which the 

applicant thereunder is authorized to conduct in this state and the place or places from which it may be conducted. 

(b) The annual license fee shall be payable on or before January 1 of each and every year thereafter; provided, however, 

that whenever an application is submitted after July 1 of any year, the annual license fee for the remaining portion of such 

year shall be one-half of the annual license fee provided for in Code Section 26-2-312. 

HISTORY: Ga. L. 1937-38, Ex. Sess., p. 332, § 6. 

§ 26-2-314.  License Revocation 

The license of any wholesale fish dealer is subject to revocation by the Commissioner of Agriculture for violation of any 

law, rule, or regulation pertaining to the sale or distribution of seafoods or fish. 

HISTORY: Ga. L. 1937-38, Ex. Sess., p. 332, § 14. 
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§ 26-2-315.  Promulgation of Rules and Regulations Regarding Sanitation, Distribution, and Transportation of Fish 

and Seafoods 

The Commissioner of Agriculture is authorized to regulate and prescribe rules and regulations with respect to the proper 

method of sanitation, distribution, and transportation of all fish and seafoods in this state and, as well, all fish and seafood 

transported from all other states. To this end the Commissioner may require that all fish and seafoods transported into and 

in and through this state shall be in refrigerated cars or by refrigerated trucks with insulated bodies or in containers 

disconnected from the body of the truck or by express or in boxes or other containers adequately iced. When fish and 

seafoods are transported from this state by truck, they shall be equipped with enclosed insulated bodies or containers 

disconnected from the body of the truck with proper refrigeration to carry the fish and seafood in good condition with 50 

percent weight of ice to weight of fish or seafoods. 

HISTORY: Ga. L. 1937-38, Ex. Sess., p. 332, § 7; Ga. L. 1992, p. 6, § 26. 

§ 26-2-316.  Suitable Equipment and Sanitation for Wholesale Fish Dealers 

The Commissioner of Agriculture is authorized to require each wholesale fish dealer having a fixed place of business to 

provide suitable equipment and sanitation to handle and care for fish and seafoods in a sanitary manner; and that each 

wholesale dealer having a fixed place of business shall have in his place of business a refrigerated or insulated box or 

cooler in which a degree of not higher than 40 degrees temperature shall be maintained and that his place of business 

shall have proper drainage and sewerage for the care of waste in the proper dressing or processing of fish and seafoods.  

HISTORY: Ga. L. 1937-38, Ex. Sess., p. 332, § 8. 

§ 26-2-317.  Traveling Fish Dealers; Equipment 

No person shall be permitted as a traveling fish dealer to conduct a business in this state unless he is so equipped with 

refrigerated and insulated containers and unless his vehicle is so equipped with proper refrigeration or insulation as to 

provide adequate safeguards to prevent the sale of unsanitary products.  

HISTORY: Ga. L. 1937-38, Ex. Sess., p. 332, § 9. 

§ 26-2-318.  Inspection of Fish and Seafoods   

It shall be the duty of the Commissioner of Agriculture to provide the proper and necessary inspection of all fish and 

seafoods sold or distributed in this state or transported into this state from other states. 

HISTORY: Ga. L. 1937-38, Ex. Sess., p. 332, § 10. 

§ 26-2-319.  Allocation of License Fees    

Reserved. Repealed by Ga. L. 2010, p. 9, § 1-58.1/HB 1055, effective May 12, 2010. 

§ 26-2-320.  Penalty 

Any person who violates any provision of this article or any valid rule or regulation promulgated by the Commissioner of 

Agriculture pursuant to the terms of this article shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction, shall be punished 

by imprisonment for not less than 30 days nor more than six months or by a fine of not less than $50.00 nor more than 

$500.00, or by both fine and imprisonment, in the discretion of the court. 

HISTORY: Ga. L. 1937-38, Ex. Sess., p. 332, § 12. 


