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TITLE 26. FOOD, DRUGS, AND COSMETICS
CHAPTER 2. STANDARDS, LABELING, AND ADULTERATION OF FOOD
ARTICLE 10. FISH AND OTHER SEAFOODS

0.C.G.A. § 26-2-310 (2010)

§ 26-2-310. Definitions

As used in this article, the term:

(1) "Nonresident of the State of Georgia" means a person who has not maintained a
continuous residence in this state for one year and not resided therein for six months next
preceding the time when he makes application for a license.

(2) "Resident of the State of Georgia" means a person who has maintained a continuous
residence in this state for one year and has resided therein for the six-month period preceding
the time when he makes application for a license and a corporation organized under the laws of
this state, of which a majority of the stockholders are residents of this state, or a foreign
corporation which has become domesticated and qualified with the Secretary of State to do
business in this state six months before it makes application for a license. :

(3) "Seafood" means all fresh or frozen fish and all fresh or frozen shellfish, such as shrimp,
oysters, clams, scallops, lobsters, crayfish, and other similar fresh or frozen edlble products.
However, nothing in this article shall apply to any canned or salted seafoods.

(4) "Wholesale fish dealer" means any person, firm, association of persons, or corporation
who sells fish or seafood of any kind to a retail dealer, a wholesale dealer, hotels, restaurants,
or other public eating places of any kind or nature whatsoever.

HISTORY: Ga. L. 1937-38, Ex. Sess., p. 332, § 4.
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0.C.G.A. § 26-2-311 (2010)

§ 26-2-311. Administration by Commissioner of Agriculture

It shall be the duty of the Commissioner of Agriculture to administer this article.

HISTORY: Ga. L. 1937-38, Ex. Sess., p. 332, § 3.
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TITLE 26. FOOD, DRUGS, AND COSMETICS
CHAPTER 2. STANDARDS, LABELING, AND ADULTERATION OF FOOD
ARTICLE 10. FISH AND OTHER SEAFOODS

0.C.G.A. § 26-2-312 (2010)

§ 26-2-312. Wholesale fish dealers' licenses

(a) No person, firm, association of persons, or corporation shall be authorized or permitted to
engage in the business of wholesale fish dealer in this state without first having paid to the
Commissioner of Agriculture the annual license fees required in this Code section and having
procured a license from the Commissioner authorizing such person to engage in the business of
wholesale fish dealer. Any fees collected pursuant to this Code section shall be retained
pursuant to the provisions of Code Section 45-12-92.1. The annual Ixcense fee apphcable to and
required of wholesale fish dealers shall be as follows:

(1) The annual license fee for each resident wholesale fish dealer shall be $60.00 for each
place of business, fixed or movable;

(2) The annual license fee for each nonresident or alien wholesale fish dealer shall be $60.00
‘for each place of business, fixed or movable, provided that the annual license fee for each
nonresident or alien wholesale fish dealer who is a resident of a state which charges Georgia
resident wholesale fish dealers a fee in excess of $60.00 shall be the same as the fee such state
charges Georgia resident wholesale fish dealers for each place of'business, fixed or movable.
The Commissioner of Agriculture of the State of Georgia may enter into a reciprocal agreement
with any other state to limit the fees such state charges a Georgia resident who operates as a
wholesale fish dealer or its equivalent in such other state.

(b) Each truck or movable unit from which fish are sold at wholesale shall be deemed a place of
business within the meaning of this article.

(c) A resident who produces the fish and other seafood he or she sells at retail or wholesale
shall not be required to pay the license fee provided in paragraph (1) of subsection (a) of this
Code section; nor shall any commercial fisherman licensed to catch fish or seafood by the state
game and fish laws, rules, and regulatlons be required to pay the license fee provided for in this
Code sectlon

HISTORY: Ga. L. 1937-38, Ex. Sess., p. 332, § 5; Ga. L. 1939, p. 316, § 1; Ga. L. 1945, p.
315, § 1; Ga. L, 1953, Jan.-Feb. Sess., p. 521, § 2; Ga. L. 1987, p. 908, § 1; Ga. L. 2002, p.
.819, § 1; Ga. L, 2010, p. 9, § 1-58/HB 1055.
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: TITLE 26. FOOD, DRUGS, AND COSMETICS
CHAPTER 2. STANDARDS, LABELING, AND ADULTERATION OF FOOD
ARTICLE 10. FISH AND OTHER SEAFOODS

0.C.G.A. § 26-2-313 (2010)

§ 26-2-313. Applications for wholesale fish dealers’ licenses

(a) Each and every person desiring to engage in the business of wholesale fish dealer in this
state shall annually on or before January 1 in every year make application to the Commissioner
of Agriculture for a license in which such applicant shall state his name, his post office address,
the nature of business in which he desires to engage, and the place at which he proposes to
conduct his business. Such applicant shall also furnish to the Commissioner such other and
additional information as the Commissioner may require. When such information is furnished,
the Commissioner shall advise the applicant the amount of the license tax required of such
applicant, and when said annual license tax is paid, the Commissioner shall issue to such
applicant a license which shall particularly state the nature of the business which the applicant
thereunder is authorized to conduct in this state and the place or places from which it may be
conducted.

(b) The annual license fee shall be payable on or before January 1 of each and every year
thereafter; provided, however, that whenever an application is submitted after July 1 of any
year, the annual license fee for the remaining portion of such year shall be one-half of the
annual license fee provided for in Code Section 26-2-312.

HISTORY: Ga. L. 1937-38, Ex, Sess., p. 332, § 6.
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TITLE 26. FOOD, DRUGS, AND COSMETICS ‘
CHAPTER 2. STANDARDS, LABELING, AND ADULTERATION OF FOOD
ARTICLE 10. FISH AND OTHER SEAFOODS

0.C.G.A. § 26-2-314 (2010)

§ 26-2-314. License revocation

The license of any wholesale fish dealer is'subject to revocation by the Commissioner of
Agriculture for violation of any law, rule, or regulation pertaining to the sale or distribution of

seafoods or fish.

HISTORY: Ga. L. 1937-38, Ex. Sess., p. 332, § 14.
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TITLE 26. FOOD, DRUGS, AND COSMETICS
CHAPTER 2. STANDARDS, LABELING, AND ADULTERATION OF FOOD
: ARTICLE 10. FISH AND OTHER SEAFOODS

0.C.G.A. § 26-2-315 (2010)

§ 26-2-315. Promulgation of rules and regulations regarding sanitation, distribution, and
transportation of fish and seafoods

The Commissioner of Agriculture is authorized to regulate and prescribe rules and regulations
with respect to the proper method of sanitation, distribution, and transportation of all fish and
seafoods in this state and, as well, all fish and seafood transported from all other states. To this
end the Commissioner may require that all fish and seafoods transported into and in and
through this state shall be in refrigerated cars or by refrigerated trucks with insulated bodies or
in containers disconnected from the body of the truck or by express or in boxes or other
containers adequately iced. When fish and seafoods are transported from this state by truck,
they shall be equipped with enclosed insulated bodies or containers disconnected from the body
of the truck with proper refrigeration to carry the fish and seafood in good condition with 50
percent weight of ice to weight of fish or seafoods.

HISTORY: Ga. L. 1937-38, Ex. Sess., p. 332, § 7; Ga. L. 1992, p. 6, § 26.
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TITLE 26. FOOD, DRUGS, AND COSMETICS
CHAPTER 2. STANDARDS, LABELING, AND ADULTERATION OF FOOD
ARTICLE 10. FISH AND OTHER SEAFOODS

0.C.G.A. § 26-2-316 (2010)

§ 26-2-316. Suitable equipment and sanitation for wholesale fish dealers

The Commissioner of Agriculture is authorized to require each wholesale fish dealer having a
fixed place of business to provide suitable equipment and sanitation to handle and care for fish
and seafoods in a sanitary manner; and that each wholesale dealer having a fixed place of
business shall have in his place of business a refrigerated or insulated box or cooler in which a
degree of not higher than 40 degrees temperature shall be maintained and that his place of
business shall have proper drainage and sewerage for the care of waste in the proper dressing
or processing of fish and seafoods.

HISTORY: Ga. L. 1937-38, Ex. Sess., p. 332, § 8.
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TITLE 26. FOOD, DRUGS, AND COSMETICS
CHAPTER 2. STANDARDS, LABELING, AND ADULTERATION OF FOOD
ARTICLE 10. FISH AND OTHER SEAFOODS
0.C.G.A. § 26-2-317 (2010)

§ 26-2-317. Traveling fish dealers; equipment

No person shall be permitted as a traveling fish dealer to conduct a business in this state
unless he is so equipped with refrigerated and insulated containers and unless his vehicle is so
equipped with proper refrigeration or insulation as to provide adequate safeguards to prevent

the sale of unsanitary products.

HISTORY: Ga. L. 1937-38, Ex. Sess., p. 332, § 9.
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TITLE 26. FOOD, DRUGS, AND COSMETICS
CHAPTER 2. STANDARDS, LABELING, AND ADULTERATION OF FOOD
ARTICLE 10. FISH AND OTHER SEAFOODS
O.C.G.A. § 26-2-318 (2010)
§ 26-2-318. Inspection of fish and seafoods
It shall be the duty of the Commissioner of Agriculture to provide the proper and necessary
inspection of all fish and seafoods sold or distributed in this state or transported into this state

from other states.

HISTORY: Ga. L. 1937-38, Ex. Sess., p. 332, § 10.
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TITLE 26. FOOD, DRUGS, AND COSMETICS
CHAPTER 2. STANDARDS, LABELING, AND ADULTERATION OF FOOD
ARTICLE 10. FISH AND OTHER SEAFOODS
0.C.G.A. § 26-2-319 (2010)

§ 26-2-319. Allocation of license fees

Reserved. Repealed by Ga. L. 2010, p. 9, § 1-58.1/HB 1055, effective May 12, 2010.
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TITLE 26. FOOD, DRUGS, AND COSMETICS
CHAPTER 2. STANDARDS, LABELING, AND ADULTERATION OF FOOD
ARTICLE 10. FISH AND OTHER SEAFOODS

0.C.G.A. § 26-2-320 (2010)
§ 26-2-320. Penalty
Any person who violates any provision of this article or any valid rule or regulation
promulgated by the Commissioner of Agriculture pursuant to the terms of this article shall be
guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction, shall be punished by imprisonment for not less
than 30 days nor more than six months or by a fine of not less than $50.00 nor more than

$500.00, or by both fine and imprisonment, in the discretion of the court.

HISTORY: Ga. L. 1937-38, Ex. Sess., p. 332, § 12.
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